Representation, perseverance and growth as an artist: Duchess365Β΄s journey so far

By Wacom |

Welcome to the latest Let’s Talk Art interview, my name’s Jack and this time I’m joined by the wonderful Olivia, known online as Duchess365. I met Olivia briefly at MCM Comic Con in London this year and was really struck by her artwork. I instantly fell in love with her portraits so had to find out more about her.
Find out the story behind her online name, how a further education in art helped her to grow, why she is determined to combat the lack of representation in art, and the benefits of doing the 365 drawing challenge in this exciting addition to our interview series.

So, Let’s Talk Art!

Your online identity is kept pretty private, so we hugely appreciate you being part of this. Can you tell us a little more about yourself?

Thank you very much for having me be a part of this wonderful series! Well, as you know, my name is Olivia, and I’m an illustrator based in London.
A little bit more about myself… I love cats. I’ve loved them for many years. I remember being 8 years old and writing my own comic called β€œThe Strong Cat” which was about a yellow domestic cat with a decent amount of strength, who would always save the day in his community.
As a teenager, I used to really be into photorealistic pencil drawing [I have a folder of old pencil drawings which you can insert if they’re relevant]. I only began losing interest when I started pursuing digital art. I also remember finding artists like Mark Ryden and Sas Christian when I was at school. They remain within my group of favourite artists. Artists like Ryden and Christian made me realise that it was detailed that I’ve always loved as opposed to realism. I habitually look at art every day.